Solving a bee equipment mis-match problem

There is a really young and enthusiastic member of our bee club named Jacob. To let you know just how enthusiastic, for Christmas, rather than ask for trucks or a new bike or other toys, he asked for a beehive. Around 5pm yesterday his dad called saying they had a slight problem. It seems they bought a 5 frame nuc from another club member. The problem was the nuc was in deep frames and the hive setup they bought was all mediums. What could they do? I told them not to worry. I had some newly assembled deep boxes. Jacob’s dad said they were headed to his baseball game and would stop by when it ended around 8 pm.

Meanwhile, my daughter called and we talked for awhile, and my friend Caroline stopped by to pick up the top bar hive I made her, and we had tea and went out and looked at my hives.  Finally a little before 7 oclock I went up to the shed and grabbed a deep hive body. It was then that it dawned on me that not only was Jacob and his dad using all medium boxes, but they also decided to go with eight frames.

So I hurried into the shop to see what I had hanging around in the way of pine. I had one wide enough board, but it wasn’t long enough to make all four sides. The other board I had was about 1/2 to 3/4 of in inch narrower, so I cut some strips to glue and nail on to get it up to the 9 5/8″ I was shooting for. After taking a few measurements from a ten frame box and laying out eight side bars from wooden frames, I had all the info I needed and started to work.

In a short time with a few saw cuts, some gorilla glue, and some deck screws I had an 8 frame deep hive body. I also assembled the three extra frames they would need, installed the foundation and finished with a few minutes to spare, but that was only because their game ran into overtime. It felt good knowing that I saved the day for this budding new beekeeper. Who knows, someday in the future he may be an inspiration to other young people.  Happy Beekeeping Jacob!

 

About Beekeeping in the Berkshires

Here at Berkshire Farms Apiary we've been keeping bees and making honey since 2005, with hives in most of the surrounding towns. We also make pure beeswax candles, lip balm, and hand salve, as well as give presentations. As secretary of the Northern Berkshire Beekeepers Association, I am very active in the local beekeeping community.
This entry was posted in General Beekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

