Sometimes Things Just Fall Into Your Lap

When people contact me to buy honey or catch a swarm, I always ask how they got my information. Sometimes it was by word of mouth, but often, surprisingly, they just did an internet search and found my contact information. I don’t exactly know how it works, but it does, and I’m grateful. Of course, that also gets you a lot of calls for people with wasp and hornet problems who think they have honey bees.
A few nice things that have come my way were an offer to write a book, an offer to be in a book, and an article in American Bee Journal.
The first came about when some editors from Storey Publishing were talking about doing a book on building bee equipment. Storey is based in the town where I live, and some beekeepers in our club work there. They knew I make most all of my own stuff, so I met with a couple of editors and we worked out a deal. I was never aware of how much work goes into producing a quality book, and how many people are involved, from editors to copywriters, layout and design people, and many more. So far it has been a great experience, though trying at times and very labor intensive. I am very happy with the way it’s coming. and hopefully the finished product will be out early in the spring of 2013.
The second event came out of nowhere. I got an random e-mail from someone named Luke Dixon who lives in Soho, England. He said he was writing a book on urban beekeeping and found my information online, and asked would I be interested in being one of the many featured beekeepers? I said sure. We e-mailed questions and answers and photos back and forth, and after a couple of years of work, his book “Keeping Bees in Cities and Towns” published by Timber Press, arrived at my doorstep.  I’ve really been enjoying reading it. There are three pages devoted to my bees that are less than a mile from Main Street in North Adams, MA.
The book is filled with interesting information and great photos of beekeepers from all over. I would recommend it as a good read, even to a non-beekeeper. I’ll do a more detailed review when I’m done reading it and try to post a link to it on my sidebar.
As random as that e-mail was, I got a call from a gentleman named Cecil Hicks, who writes for American Bee Journal. He was flying out east to travel and take in the fall foliage, and would I be interested in being interviewed for an upcoming article? Feeling like there are so many better and more experienced beekeepers than myself, I tried to convince him to do an article on our club and talk to other local beekeepers, but he had his mind set and knew what he wanted so I agreed. When he arrived in late September, we had a nice talk and visit here at my house. We later went out to see the hives, and he snapped a few quick pictures. The weather wasn’t cooperative with a light rain falling, but we made the best of it. I’m not sure when the article will run, but I still feel a little embarrassed at being the one chosen. I guess that’s what happens when your name is out there in cyberspace.

About Beekeeping in the Berkshires

Here at Berkshire Farms Apiary we've been keeping bees and making honey since 2005, with hives in most of the surrounding towns. We also make pure beeswax candles, lip balm, and hand salve, as well as give presentations. As secretary of the Northern Berkshire Beekeepers Association, I am very active in the local beekeeping community.
This entry was posted in General Beekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

